• Driven by efficiency.
  • Driven by efficiency.

SETCON®

Variable-Speed Gearbox for Industrial Applications

SETCON is an electro-mechanical variable-speed gearbox designed to control speed in pumps, compressors, fans, and blowers. With up to 97% overall Efficiency, SETCON is the most efficient variable-speed drive technology for your application and pioneering in terms of reliability.

Why SETCON?

As oil and gas prices continue to fluctuate, causing demand for production to vary at refineries, and EU Ecodesign regulations are now stricter, more and more operators are turning to controlled speed drives for their machines. What is standard in other applications, namely adjusting the power required to actual needs, is still not common practice in many areas of industry. If speed control is used, frequency converters (full-scale converters), geared variable-speed couplings, or hydrodynamic variable speed gears are usually installed. However, when high electrical drive power is required, purchase costs and efficiency losses are often high.
SETCON on the other hand combines all the benefits of conventional drive technologies, thus delivering extremely high efficiency, minimal footprint, and maximum reliability.

Technical Data:

The picture shows SETCON with the gearbox (blue) and the servo drive (orange) on the function test field at SET in Klagenfurt

4.1 MW SETCON application for a BFP

  • Highest overall efficiency up to 97%
  • Power range 1–15 MW
  • Output speed up to 15,000 rpm
  • Low initial costs
  • Reduced package and weight
  • Service-friendly design

= lowest life cycle costs (LCCs)

 

Add-ons

+ “Soft-start device” – soft start of Main Drive

 

Efficiency Comparison

Total Efficiency: incl. Main Drive and excl. Driven Machine
    • SETCON®: Electro-mechanical Differential System
    • VFD: Variable Frequency Drive incl. Gearbox
    • HDVSD: Hydro-dynamic Variable Speed Drive (hydro dynamic converter)
    • HDC: Hydro-dynamic Coupling

Technology

How does it actually work?

The drive concept SETCON® consists of a  Gearbox – planetery gear including step-up gear  (1), Servos in combination with a low-voltage Frequency Converter (2+3), a Control Cabinet incl. PLC (4), an electric motor as the medium-voltage Main Drive (5) and a Driven Machine (6). The medium-voltage Main Drive (5) is connected directly to the MV-grid and drives the planetary gear’s ring gear at constant speed. The planetary gear’s planet carrier transmits the variable speed through the optional spur gear unit to the Driven Machine (6). The sun gear is connected to the Servos. The speed of the Servos (2) is controlled firstly in order to ensure the speed at the Driven Machine (6) is variable when the speed of the Main Drive (5) is constant, and secondly to control the torque in the  entire drive train.

Set-up drive train

Principle of the differential gear

Planatery gear SETCONClick >here< for the Gear Animation.

• Driven by efficiency.
  • Driven by efficiency.

SETCON®

Drehzahl-variables Getriebe für industrielle Antriebe

SETCON ist ein drehzahlvariables elektro-mechanisches Differentialgetriebe zur Drehzahlregelung von Pumpen, Kompressoren, Ventilatoren und Gebläsen. Mit bis zu 97% Gesamtwirkungsgrad ist SETCON die effizienteste drehzahl-variable Antriebstechnologie für Ihre Anwendung und ein Vorreiter in Sachen Zuverlässigkeit.

Warum SETCON?

Durch schwankende Öl- und Gaspreise und dem damit verbundenen variablen Förderbedarf in Raffinerien sowie aufgrund verschärfter EU-Ökodesign-Richtlinien setzen immer mehr Betreiber auf drehzahlgeregelte Antriebe bei ihren angetriebenen Maschinen. Was bei anderen Anwendungen selbstverständlich ist, nämlich die aufgewendete Leistung dem tatsächlichen Bedarf anzupassen, ist in vielen Bereichen der Industrie noch immer kein Standard. Im Falle einer Drehzahlregelung kommen zumeist Frequenzumformer („Vollumrichter“), Getrieberegelkupplungen oder hydro-dynamische Drehzahlwandler zum Einsatz, die jedoch bei hohen elektrischen Antriebsleistungen oft hohe Anschaffungskosten bzw. Effizienzeinbußen verursachen. SETCON hingegen verbindet all die Vorteile herkömmlicher Antriebstechnologien und ermöglicht dadurch die höchste Effizienz, niedrigsten Platzbedarf und maximale Zuverlässigkeit.

Technische Daten:

Das Bild zeigt SETCON mit der Getriebeeinheit (blau) und Servo (orange) am Funktionsprüfstand bei SET GmbH in Klagenfurt

4.1 MW SETCON für eine Kesselspeisepumpe

  • Höchster Gesamtwirkungsgrad bis zu 97%
  • Leistung 1 – 15 MW
  • Abtriebsdrehzahl bis 15.000 rpm
  • Geringe Investitionskosten
  • Reduktion von Bauraum und Gewicht
  • Servicefreundliches Design

= niedrigste Gesamtkosten

 

Add-ons

+   “Soft-Start Device“ – Sanftanlauf des Hauptmotors

Wirkungsgrad Vergleich

Gesamtwirkungsgrad: inkl. Hauptantrieb und exkl. anzutreibender Maschine
  • SETCON®: Elektro-mechanisches Differentialsystem
  • VFD: Variable Frequency Drive (Vollumrichter inkl. Getriebestufe)
  • HDVSD: Hydro-dynamic Variable Speed Drive (Hydro-dynamischer Drehzahlwandler)
  • HDC: Hydro-dynamic Coupling (Getrieberegelkupplung)

Technik

Wie funktioniert das eigentlich?

Das SETCON® System besteht aus einer Getriebeeinheit inkl. Differentialgetriebe (Planetengetriebe) (1), Servos mit Niederspannungs-Frequenzumrichter (2+3), sowie einem Steuerschrank (4). Der konstante Antrieb des Systems erfolgt durch einen E-Motor als Mittelspannungs-Hauptantrieb (5). Der variable Abtrieb erfolgt an eine angetriebenen Maschine (6) wie z.b. eine Pumpe oder Kompressor. Der direkt ans Netz geschaltete Mittelspannungs-Hauptantrieb (5) treibt das Hohlrad des Differentialgetriebes mit konstanter Drehzahl an. Das Sonnenrad ist mit der angetriebenen Maschine (6) verbunden und überträgt via optional nachgelegter Stirnradstufe (offset) die variable Drehzahl. Der Planetenträger des Differentialgetriebes ist mit dem frequenzgesteuerten Servos (2) verbunden. Die Drehzahl der Servos (2) wird geregelt, um einerseits bei konstanter Drehzahl des Hauptantriebes (5) eine variable Drehzahl der angetriebenen Maschine (6) zu gewährleisten und andererseits das Drehmoment im kompletten Triebstrang zu regeln.

Aufbau Antriebsstrang

Prinzip Differentialgetriebe (1)

 Für Getriebe Animation >hier< klicken (goolge-chrome oder firefox browser wird vorausgesetzt).